What Is The Law On Cellphone Use While Operating A Vehicle In New York State?

The law in New York State does NOT allow you to use a hand held mobile phone while driving. If you use a hand held mobile phone while you drive, except to call 911 or to contact medical, fire or police personnel about an emergency, you can receive a traffic ticket and pay a maximum fine of $100 plus mandatory surcharges and fees of up to $85. For offenses committed October 5, 2011 and beyond, this violation also carries three driver violation points. You may talk on the cell phone using a hands-free device.

Questions? Visit the NYS Government's website on Distracted Driving, Talking and Texting or contact our firm and we'll be glad to explain the law to you in detail.